News &

Media Contact

Amy Merves
Manager of
Media Relations



Fox Chase Cancer Center's Board Names Four New Vice Chairs

Streamlines Executive Committee to Take a Leadership Role in Coming Expansion

PHILADELPHIA (April 2008)— Fox Chase Cancer Center's board of directors has named four new vice chairs, board chairman William J. Avery announced today. They are longtime board members W. Thacher Brown of Devon, Pa.; Thomas W. Hofmann of Malvern, Pa.; David G. Marshall of New Hope, Pa.; and Peter McCausland of Villanova, Pa.

With Avery, the new vice chairs will comprise the board's executive committee.  The board streamlined this decision-making group from its former official membership of 13, which included all committee chairs.

"This is a first step for the board in taking a heightened leadership role as Fox Chase plans its expansion," Avery explained.  "There are a number of critical decisions to be made over the next five or six months before we can announce specific plans and a timeline for the future.
"The newly reconstituted executive committee will be able to meet much more often to expedite decision-making as the Center's expansion plans take final shape," Avery said. 

The board will work closely with Fox Chase president and chief executive officer Michael V. Seiden, MD, PhD, and other Fox Chase officers in finalizing the Center's expansion plan, Avery added.

Brown, elected to the board in 1995, is retired president of MBIA Asset Management, LLC.  Brown also serves on the boards of Airgas Inc., Harleysville Mutual Insurance Co, Harleysville Group, Inc., Pennsylvania Horticultural Society, Eisenhower Fellowships and Rivus Bond Fund.
Hofmann, who joined the Fox Chase board in 2000, is senior vice president and chief financial officer of Sunoco, Inc.  He has held various management positions at Sunoco since joining the organization in 1977.  Hofmann serves on the boards of West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc., and Sunoco Logistics Partners and is a member of the advisory council of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metropolitan Philadelphia.

Marshall, a Fox Chase board member since 1994, is chairman and chief executive officer of Amerimar Realty Company.  He is president of the Central Philadelphia Development Corporation, vice chair of the Federation Allied Jewish Appeal and a director of the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fund, Center City District, Joint Distribution Committee, SEI Center for Advanced Studies in Management, Friends of Rittenhouse Square, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania's Real Estate Center (Advisory Board) and Research Committee (Chair) and the Foreign Policy Research Institute.   He previously was a director of the Wharton School's undergraduate executive board.

McCausland, elected to the Fox Chase board in 2003, founded Airgas, Inc., in 1982 and has been its chairman and CEO since 1987.  Airgas, a New York Stock Exchange company, is the largest U.S. supplier of packaged industrial, medical and specialty gases.  McCausland is also chairman of the Board of Port Wardens of the Independence Seaport Museum in Philadelphia, chairman of the board of trustees of the International Oxygen Manufacturers Association and trustee of the Eisenhower Fellowships.

McCausland has previously served on the boards of numerous organizations, including The Valspar Corporation, NiSource, Inc., Hercules, Inc., the Compressed Gas Association, the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the Morris Arboretum and Springside School.  McCausland has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Compressed Gas Association and the Environmental Protection Agency's Stratospheric Ozone Protection Award.

Avery is the retired chairman and CEO of Crown Cork & Seal Company, Inc.  He is a member of the boards of Lincoln National Corporation, Rohm & Haas, the Franklin Institute, Gwynedd Mercy College, Historic Philadelphia, Inc., Philadelphia Shipyard Development Corp, and the Police Athletic League (PAL) of Philadelphia.  Formerly, he served on the boards of the American Red Cross of Southeastern Pennsylvania, the Anti-Defamation League of Philadelphia, Greater Philadelphia First Corporation, the National Constitution Center, Opportunities Industrialization Center of Philadelphia, PhAME Awards Corporation and Team Pa.

Fox Chase Cancer Center, part of the Temple University Health System, is one of the leading cancer research and treatment centers in the United States. Founded in 1904 in Philadelphia as one of the nation’s first cancer hospitals, Fox Chase was also among the first institutions to be designated a National Cancer Institute Comprehensive Cancer Center in 1974. Fox Chase researchers have won the highest awards in their fields, including two Nobel Prizes. Fox Chase physicians are also routinely recognized in national rankings, and the Center’s nursing program has received the Magnet recognition for excellence four consecutive times. Today, Fox Chase conducts a broad array of nationally competitive basic, translational, and clinical research, with special programs in cancer prevention, detection, survivorship, and community outreach.  For more information, call 1-888-FOX CHASE or (1-888-369-2427).

More 2008 News Releases »