2006 Scientific Report


Scientific Report 2006
Fox Chase Cancer Center
333 Cottman Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19111-2497
ISSN 1040-0303
Library of Congress Serial Number

Cover Description: It has been 30 years since Baruch S Blumberg, MD, PhD, was awarded the Nobel Prize. Our Cover is dedicated to this discovery. The inset is a fluorescence microscopy image of primary human hepatocytes that have been infected with hepatitis delta virus (discovered by Mario Rizzetto, MD, in l977), a sub-viral agent that uses the envelope proteins of human hepatitis B virus. The green stain, observed in one cell, indicates replication of hepatitis delta virus. The blue stain detects the nuclear DNA of each hepatocyte. The red stain detects E-cadherin, a host protein present at all the cell-cell junctions (provided by Severin Gudima, PhD). The world map with the red color indicates regions with the highest HBV prevalence. The viral genome with the Reimann Research Building is shown in the background. The Fox Chase Cancer Center hepatitis viral group has included Baruch S Blumberg, MD, PhD, W Thomas London, MD, William S Mason, PhD, Christoph Seeger, PhD, John M Taylor, PhD, and Jesse Summers, PhD.
Cover design: Debra Foster, BFA
Paul Cohen, BFA
Richard Bomze, BFA
Anna O'Connell, AB
Photographers: Fox Chase Cancer Center:
Paul Cohen, BFA
Joseph Hurley
Typesetting Software: Adobe® FrameMaker®
Printer: Smith-Edwards-Dunlap Company, Philadelphia, PA

Scientific Report Committee

Anna P O'Connell, AB Scientific Editor
Gerri M Zygmunt Scientific Editorial Associate
Roseanne Brooks Editorial Assistant
Richard Bomze, BFA Supervisor, Graphic Production
Debra Foster, BFA Computer Graphics Artist
Karen Trush, AFA Computer Graphics Artist
Paul Cohen, BFA Photographic Coordinator
Joseph Hurley Photographic Coordinator
Michael J Sweeney, BS Senior Director, Information Technology Operations
Alexander TW Kohr, BS Mac Systems Administrator
James Toska Mac Support Technician
Mark Siemon, BA Manager, Web Technology
Frank J Zornick, Jr, BA Web Developer

Scientific Reviewers

Peter D Adams, PhD
Kerry S Campbell, PhD
Joanne F Dorgan, MPH, PhD
Jenny Pickworth Glusker, DPhil, DSc
W Thomas London, MD
Maureen E Murphy, PhD
Glenn F Rall, PhD
John M Taylor, PhD
David L Wiest, PhD